Bruce Whitaker Fullerton City Council (D4)

Mayor Bruce Whitaker 2021

January 28th, 2021 . by Bruce

Hello all!

I am honored to have been re-elected to the Fullerton City Council. This time as the first Council representative for District 4, southwest Fullerton. Following the election, upon installation on December 1, 2020, I was unanimously selected to serve as Fullerton’s Mayor. A big “Thank You” to all for your support, confidence and assistance.

I am also pleased to have been selected to return to serve you on the Orange County Water District (OCWD) Board! Please read their press release below:

News | January 22, 2021 Fullerton Appoints Mayor Bruce Whitaker To Orange County Water District Board.Bruce Whitaker was appointed to the Orange County Water District (OCWD; the District) Board of Directors by the Fullerton City Council to represent Division 10, the city of Fullerton. Whitaker previously served on the OCWD Board from August 2012 to January 2014 and February 2017 to February 2019. “It is my distinct honor to serve on the OCWD Board again,” said Director Whitaker. “The city of Fullerton is fortunate to rely on the vast groundwater basin, managed by the District, that provides 77% of the water supply to 2.5 million people in north and central Orange County. I look forward to working with my colleagues and staff to continue to protect and manage this valuable regional asset.”Whitaker currently serves as Fullerton’s mayor and was first elected to the city council in November 2010, where he served a two-year term. He was re-elected to four-year terms on the council in November 2012, 2016 and 2020. Whitaker previously served as commissioner of the Santa Ana Watershed Project Authority and was on the board of the Santa Ana River Flood Protection Agency and the Orange County Vector Control District. He also served on the County of Orange Oversight Board and was a planning commissioner for the city of Fullerton. Whitaker has also held positions in state and local government.“It is great to welcome back Bruce Whitaker to our board,” said President Stephen R. Sheldon. “Bruce’s knowledge of water and his prior service on the board will aid him well as we work together to advance water reliability for the region.”Whitaker is an active member of the Fullerton community where he resides. He founded the Fullerton Association of Concerned Taxpayers and volunteers for numerous organizations.Whitaker is part of a 10-member board of directors at OCWD – seven elected from divisions that consist of cities throughout north and central Orange County, and three appointed to represent the cities of Anaheim, Fullerton and Santa Ana. The remaining directors and their divisions are: Dina L. Nguyen, Esq., Division 1; Denis R. Bilodeau, P.E., Division 2; Roger C. Yoh, P.E., Division 3; Tri Ta, Division 4; Stephen R. Sheldon, Division 5; Cathy Green, Division 6; Kelly Rowe, CFM, P.G., C.E.G., C.H., Division 7; Nelida Mendoza, Division 8; and Jordan Brandman, Division 9. Biographies and photographs of all OCWD Board of Directors are available at Orange County Water DistrictThe Orange County Water District is committed to enhancing Orange County’s groundwater quality and reliability in an environmentally friendly and economical manner. The following cities rely on the groundwater basin, managed by OCWD, to provide 77% of their water demands: Anaheim, Buena Park, Costa Mesa, Cypress, Fountain Valley, Fullerton, Garden Grove, Huntington Beach, Irvine, La Palma, Los Alamitos, Newport Beach, Orange, Placentia, Santa Ana, Seal Beach, Stanton, Tustin, Villa Park, Westminster, and Yorba Linda. For more information, visit

Tagged With:

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.